top of page
  • Writer's pictureCortney Robateau

THE GOOD, THE BAD & THE AWESOME!

Updated: Mar 1, 2023


Hello friends! First, I hope everyone is doing well and using my journey to help inspire you to do all the things you have been putting off. This post will cover the good, the bad and the amazing parts of my recovery from surgery.


THE GOOD (well, really the great!)


I have been getting cards in the mail; what a confidence boost they are! I love getting mail, and then opening these cards that have such positive messages, it reminds me that I am tough as nails, and I can do this!


I have also had some friends visit, which certainly lifts my spirits! It’s just nice to talk, laugh and even play games, which is a favorite of mine. It’s just nice to forget and be normal for a bit. Normal, whatever that means! 🤣


I’ve been getting around the house well with Estelle (my newly named walker!), and I have my showers mastered! I’m using a different bathroom, but it is set up with a seat, and a couple of suction handles, making it a little easier for me. I have also started practicing using crutches. With this splint on, it throws off my weight distribution, but I am doing well with those, also! It’s the small things that make me proud of myself; being able to shower easily and getting around are definitely a few of the things I’m proud of.


THE BAD (well, really the slightly negative)

I don’t like using the word bad because I am trying not to feel sorry for myself or my situation. I feel VERY fortunate to have gotten this far in my journey because others are not so lucky. So, I’m going with the term “slightly negative.”


I am experiencing something called Phantom sensation and Phantom pain. Phantom sensation is still feeling your lost limb. I can still feel my ankle and my foot. I have a constant tingling sensation, and it will even itch at times. If I have covers on, it feels like they are laying on my leg. I sometimes try to move my toes because they feel like they are falling asleep. Phantom pain is feeling pain, sharp stabs or throbbing in your non-existent limb. The other day it felt like I had rolled my ankle, which throbbed for hours. I get these pains like someone is sticking a nail in the bottom of my foot. It’s hard to explain, but I can tell you it isn’t pleasant. I take a pill called Gabapentin to help with the sensation and pain. A few days ago, they increased my dose to try and help with the severity. It takes a while for the medication to start working in your system, so hopefully soon, I will have some relief.


Last, I have had two falls. One was a small minor fall, and the other a big one. The small one I was trying to put something in the trash to help out Nick and our barstools swivel, and of course, it swiveled, and I didn’t. My splint saved me when it hit the corner of the wall. No harm no foul. Just scared me and about gave Nick a heart attack. The second fall was the next day. It was Wednesday evening, and I was exhausted. I got up to go to the bathroom and completely forgot I no longer had a leg. My splint hit the ground first, and I saw stars. The pain was excruciating. Not only was it painful, but I was also so embarrassed. The next day I was very sore, in pain and mentally down. I was upset with myself for doing “something so stupid.” On Friday morning, I woke up and realized how happy I was to be with my family for another day. That I will make mistakes and I will have setbacks. All those things make me who I am. I decided to let it go and had the best day. It’s easy to beat ourselves up over small things, but we are all human, and our mistakes make us who we are.



THE AWESOME!

On Friday, I got my pathology results. Thankfully there was only one tumor, and the rest was clear margins. So that is amazing news! We still have to worry about recurrence and the possibility that it could spread, BUT for now. things are good!


I’ve said this before, and it needs to be repeated; the generosity of others is astounding! Our neighbors started a meal train for us. I cannot even begin to tell you how helpful it has been to our family. Not having to worry about dinner during the week is a huge relief. We could not be any more grateful for the meal train and our neighbors.


Finally, my post-op appointment! Thursday is a big day for me. Not in a way that much will happen, but it’s big for me because this is the next step in my recovery. I will get my splint removed and hopefully my staples. My leg man (aka prosthetist) will be at my appointment to fit me for a shrinker. A shrinker is used to reduce and prevent swelling. I will wear that to try and shrink Regina (you remember Regina, right?!?!) so that I can be fitted for my first socket. So Thursday is the start of exciting things coming my way. I’m looking forward to the process. I know there will be setbacks and disappointments but just as many advancements and challenges will be met!


My journey is far from being over, and honestly, it may never be over. I’m just looking forward to getting back up on my two feet to start inspiring and helping others in whatever journey they may be on.


Love,

Cort



If you wish to purchase a t-shirt or make a contribution to help support the Robateau family, please see the buttons below:


515 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The One with the Leg-iversary

Happy 2024 readers! Thank you to those who are still following my journey. I realize it has been a while since I have provided an update. My emotions have been all over the place lately. When I first

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page