top of page
  • Writer's pictureCortney Robateau

The One with the Generosity

Where to begin? We are blessed to live in a wonderful neighborhood in Huntersville, NC. When I say blessed, I mean I don't think we could have gotten through the last 15 months without them. They rallied around us and supported us during my surgery. It was truly incredible and to be honest, not something Nick and I were used to.


Every year the neighborhood hosts a St. Patrick's Day Crawl that is an absolute blast! The group of ladies who organized this crawl are spectacular. It is no easy feat! This year they added in a raffle to raise money for a cause. Neighbors donated items and bought raffle tickets to be drawn the night of the crawl. A few days before the crawl, I saw a post about what the raffle would be benefiting, and it was ME! I still tear up every time I think about it. It turns out that my blog post about not being able to wear most of my shoes anymore, got them thinking about how they would like to help me return to some normalcy. They wanted to help raise money so I could get the adjustable heel foot I have been dreaming about.


I ran into Nick's office when I saw the post and had tears in my eyes and he said "I know. They talked to me about it before they did it." I was in a state of shock because I am not used to mattering to people. I am not used to someone thinking of me, to be brutally honest. I was floored by the gesture and felt so incredibly special in that moment and the weekend of the crawl. It is a moment that I smile about every single day. I cannot express how grateful I am to the women who thought of me enough to help me and to the neighbors who supported the raffle. They raised a whopping $1600 for my foot!!!!!! How incredible are these wonderful humans!?!?!




Long story short, I picked up my new foot on Monday!!! It is better than I could have ever dreamed! The first thing I did was run upstairs get some heels out of storage and try them on! Check me out!!!!




Ugh! Someone is cutting onions in here again! Yes, I have on Adidas pants rolled up. Yes, I have one foot painted, but like I said....I ran into the house, up the stairs, and to my shoe drawer. Took these pics and sent them directly to my boys. ❤ It was a feeling of freedom!


I hope that they know how much this means to me, how much my soul has been healed by this gift, and how it has changed my life. I could not have gotten here without their help. I am forever grateful to my amazing neighbors and generous neighborhood! You are so special.


 

The One with the an Update (Part 2)


I wanted to give sort of an update so this is kind of a two-parter! Things are going well, but I am having issues with my socket. I don't know if Regina (remember, that's my name for my limb) has changed shape or what, but this damn socket is giving me fits. I went in to have them put some padding in it, but they could not make the adjustments. If they made the adjustments, I lose suction. So I feel like I am stuck in the upside-down (for you ST fans!) with no way out. I have times when I can't wear it for more than an hour without having to take it off. It feels like I am at square one again! It is so frustrating because I thought I was finally through all of this.


A year ago, I registered for a Run Disney 5K. It had been my dream long before the words cancer and amputation came into my life. The 5K is next week and I am no closer to being able to run in this thing than I am sprouting wings and flying. It is SO frustrating and I have let it get me down. But NO MORE! If I have to walk it, I walk it. It is not the end of the world. I am here with my family which is the reason I did this. Nothing else matters. I'll update you on how it went!


When I had my scans in February they were clear of cancer, but they did find blood clots in my lungs. I have had them before so they put me on blood thinners for life. I was bummed, but it is just another mountain. I've got this! I can deal with anything but having cancer again. Thinners make me sluggish, but I'm trying to fight my way out of that. I am thinking of starting Pilates.


I have been loving my gig as a Travel Agent!! It keeps my mind busy and allows me to supplement my income to purchase all the prosthetic paraphernalia that an amputee requires. (There is a lot and it is $$$$$) I already have my next goal for what I want to purchase with my commission! I want to get a Skintones System for my adjustable heel foot. They are amazing! It is a cover and looks just like a real leg and foot. If you are curious, check it out! (getskintones.com) It is unbelievable what they can do! So send me some clients, please!!!!!


I have a PET scan in May that has me on edge, but hoping and praying that it comes back clear. I have an important two years coming with Jackson that I need to be here for. (He will be a junior next year!!) So I will fight on and try to replace the negative thoughts in my head with the positive ones.


If you are still reading and haven't died of boredom yet, thank you for hanging in there. I guess I had more to say than I thought! I appreciate you reading and following along. It is nice to have a place to share my thoughts. Hope everyone has a beautiful April and send prayers for my scan in May!


Love,

Cort



228 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The One with the Leg-iversary

Happy 2024 readers! Thank you to those who are still following my journey. I realize it has been a while since I have provided an update. My emotions have been all over the place lately. When I first

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page