top of page
  • Writer's pictureCortney Robateau

The One with the Post - Op


My Post - Op visit was on Thursday, 3/2. I was so excited to get the gigantic, heavy, pink club off my leg! I didn't sleep the night efore b/c I was as enthusiastic as a kid getting ready to go to Disneyworld, or even an adult like me that loves Disney!


Before Jackson went to school, I wanted a last picture with him and good ole pinky. For those of you who don't know, my son inherited my sense of humor and sarcasm. (Nick is SUPER thrilled about that! 😂) We took a serious one, and then Jackson decided we needed a picture where it looked like my missing foot went up his, well, you know where. I may not get the "Mother of the Year" award, but we got a huge laugh from it! So please don't judge our twisted minds.





I have not been anywhere since I left the hospital. It takes a lot out of me to go long distances on my walker or crutches. Plus, I am terrified of falling. But that morning, I could not wait. I had been practicing on my crutches to walk appropriately into my doctor's office and hold my head high.

Nick dropped me off at the front door because I have to check in at the first floor and then go to the 3rd floor for my appointment. Convenient, right? Nick was terrified of dropping me off and me navigating all of that on my own. I begged and pleaded and promised him I could do this. Against his better judgment, I won that argument (is anyone really surprised!?) and was allowed to go alone. Within 5 minutes, I texted him that I was already upstairs and waiting on him. 💖 This was my final picture with the big pink club! Sayonara Pinky!




My PA, Glenna came in to cut Pinky off as soon as we arrived to the room. It was layers and layers of padding, gauze and plaster. It weighed approx. 5 pounds, so it felt amazing to have it off. Regina looked incredible. I thought she would be an ugly mess, but she was far from it. Dr. Patt came in and said everything looked fantastic. Since I have some scabbing and he can't see the skin underneath, he wants to keep the stitches in for another two weeks to make 100% sure everything is healed. I will return on 3/16 to have my stitches removed. Hopefully, Dr Patt will release me to start the prosthetic process at that time. The first step in that process is to be cast for a socket. My "Leg man" Drew was out of town, so he sent an assistant to my post-op appointment to fit me for a compression sock. The compression sock helps to control the swelling. The more controlled your swelling is, the better they can fit you for a socket.

Glenna, Dr Patt's PA Dr. Patt


I want to introduce you to my fantastic team, Dr. Patt and his PA, Glenna. They are at the Levine Cancer Center in the Rare and Complex Orthopedic Oncology and Sarcoma Department in Uptown Charlotte. I have been coming to them since October 2019. Over the years, we have gotten to know each other. We can laugh and joke and be honest with each other. I feel so comfortable with the team I have. Glenna has paid attention to my mental and physical needs, and I truly believe she is my guardian angel. I don't know how I would have gotten through most of this without her. She holds a special place in my heart and always will.


Leaving the doctor's office felt incredible. I am counting all the small victories. This recovery is going to be a LONG process, so I want to make sure I count everything little step it takes to climb this big hill.


I try to keep my posts light and not focus on the negative. I need to be truthful in my journey because with good comes bad. Saturday evening, we cooked dinner together. Something very simple, Nick was grilling hot dogs, and I was in charge of mac & cheese and Jackson's favorite, tater tots. Everything was going well until somehow, and I still have no idea how, but I fell. I fell directly on Regina on the hardwood floor. This time, I had no protection on my leg. I am not going to lie. It was the worst pain I have ever felt in my life. (Worse than childbirth or if you are a man and reading - a man cold) I lay on the kitchen floor sobbing crying. I haven't cried since the day after I was told I needed an amputation in January. I couldn't move b/c the pain was so severe, and I could barely get a word out. I asked for ice, and Nick picked me up off the floor and carried me to the couch. I have been in a lot of pain the past several days, and sleep is out of the question. All it took was a fraction of a second. I don't think trying to cook is in my future for a while. Thank goodness for our meal train this week, and then it'll be takeout this weekend. It is so hard to watch my boys do everything for me when it has been the opposite for all these years. My sweet son looked at me Saturday evening after everything calmed down and said, "Momma, this all happened for a reason. This is to help teach Dad and me how to care of ourselves. Just let us learn and help you for a change." I honestly don't know if I deserve the son I was blessed with. He is a gift, and he doesn't know how special he truly is. So please send some good thoughts, prayers and vibes my way. I hope that if I stay on the couch, I can get some of this pain to subside.


If anyone has any questions, thoughts or suggestions about anything you would like me to cover in my blog post, please comment or send them to makeitcountforcort@gmail.com. If I get enough questions, I will happily do a Q&A post! I need your help with a couple of things. My birthday is March 9th, and I selected my fundraiser on Facebook and Instagram. I selected the Move for Jenn Foundation this year because her cause means so much to me. The Move for Jenn Foundation offers grants in the form of activewear prosthetics to those who have suffered the loss of a limb to sarcoma or other affiliated diseases. Please consider donating this year to her incredible foundation. Click here to donate on Facebook or Click here to donate on Instagram. If you would like to donate directly to the Move for Jenn Foundation, please click here and make sure you click the "in honor of" box and add my name. If you would like to read more about the Move for Jenn Foundation, please click this link: https://moveforjenn.org/. A donation in any amount is greatly appreciated!


The other thing I need your help with is getting the word out on my story and my desire to help others live their lives to the fullest, inspire others with my story, and help with amputee representation. I would really appreciate your help if anyone knows someone with media or marketing contacts. It means so much to me to use my experience to make others' lives easier. This is the legacy I wish to leave behind, but I cannot do it alone. This path was chosen for me, and I will not stop until I fulfill my passion for helping others. Thank you in advance.


Until next time! Love,

Cort



If you wish to purchase a t-shirt or make a contribution to help support the Robateau family, please see the buttons below:


662 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The One with the Leg-iversary

Happy 2024 readers! Thank you to those who are still following my journey. I realize it has been a while since I have provided an update. My emotions have been all over the place lately. When I first

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page