top of page
  • Writer's pictureCortney Robateau

The One with the Test Fittings

Oh my goodness, I don't even know where to start. I have been holding off on a post because I wanted to make sure things were going smoothly before I posted. First and most importantly, I had a PET scan this afternoon so I would appreciate any thoughts, prayers, good vibes, pixie dust or good karma you could send my way. I'm a nervous wreck, but trying to stay positive and focus on today.


Now on to the good stuff! You will recall I received the green light to start the prosthesis process. On May 1st, I went for my first test socket fitting. I was able to try on the socket and work to get it to fit comfortably. I still have my stitches in from my second surgery on 4/5, so that makes wearing the socket a wee bit painful. By wee bit, I mean A LOT. But I didn't care. I wasn't supposed to take any steps that day, but my "leg man" surprised me and let me try out the socket. He attached a foot to the socket and put a shoe on the foot that he had laying around. Yes, it was a blue Croc........if you listen closely you could hear all the teenagers clap for joy, yell dude, or bruh. Backstory, this is a fad for all the teens to wear Crocs and I daily tell my son how ugly they are, even though I bought them for him. I sent this video to my son at school and he responds with "I'm SO proud of you.....and I like your shoe lol." I knew it. 😂


Trying out Test Socket #1


It was such an amazing feeling to get to walk on two feet again. Even though it was just for a short time, it felt incredible. It was also so satisfying because I did so much better than I thought I would!


I returned to my "leg man" on May 10th for a second test fitting. They made me a second socket based on the notes he took the week before. This time not only was I there to test the socket, but also to test out a couple of feet. When I say feet, I mean the pylon (the metal part between the socket and the foot shell.) I added a picture below with descriptions of the parts.


I walked on two of the feet and I found a clear winner. I was thrilled to have made that decision! I was able to walk again in the office and this time I didn't even have to hold on to the bars! Check me out!


One step closer, literally. The only problem is my foot doesn't come with the foot shell I want. The company does not make the foot I chose in a sandal toe (a slit between the big toe and the second toe, so I can wear flip-flops and sandals.) The foot will have to be custom-made for me to get it exactly how I want it. It will be a few more weeks before the foot will be ready. It will also be a couple of weeks before my real socket is complete. I will return to my leg man tomorrow May 16th for a final fitting. Here is the best part. My leg man is so incredible, that he let me take home a demo leg so I could walk on it for a few days before my final fitting. So for the first time all spring season, I was able to walk into my son's basketball game. 🥰 I also was able to walk to my Mother's Day dinner. To say I have been bursting with emotion and pride this weekend is an understatement.



I have always been very real with you all so I have to tell you that walking has not been without a lot of pain. The stitches cause a lot of pain so I have to try and cover them so they will not move and rub while I am walking. In doing so the Band-Aids caused my skin to chafe. It truly feels like someone lit Regina on fire. Being the stubborn ass that I am, I have tried to walk through the pain but only under emergency circumstances (i.e. the boy's bball game, Mothers Day dinner and walking to my PET scan.) The rest of the time I am letting it rest so that it can heal.


Tomorrow I return to my Dr. to receive my PET scan results and HOPEFULLY get my stitches removed. After that appointment, I will be headed directly to my leg man so we can work out some kinks and get my final socket ordered. I am praying for good news in the morning. I have scans every 3 months, so I try to live life three months at a time.


Leaving you on a funny note, because well I think you know me by now. I am ready to get my stitches out so I can learn how to swim again. It is going to be a different experience. Nick bought me a noodle so I don't drown trying to re-learn how to swim. LOL!! I have already given myself a water name, Nemo because we both have gimpy fins!!

Love,


492 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page